5 Players Have Won The European Golden Shoe Many Times

The European Golden Shoe is one of those individual awards that is very hard to come by. The award is only given to the player who is able to score the most goals in European competition in a season.

So far, there have been a lot of top players who have won the award. However, only a few names have won it more than once.

1. Gerd Muller (2 times)

Top 5 Players Who Have Won The European Golden Shoe Over and Over againGerd Muller (skysports.com)

Gerd Muller is considered by many to be the best footballer in German history. He played for Bayern Munich for 15 years in 1964–1979. During that period, the player was able to create more than six hundred games.

Muller scored 566 goals and 102 assist of all appearances. This record is still making his name the top scorer in the history of Bayern Munich. On the other hand, Muller also managed to win the European Golden Shoe twice.

2. Luis Suarez (2 times)

Top 5 Players Who Have Won The European Golden Shoe Over and Over againLuis Suarez (skysports.com)

Luis Suarez is one of the greatest strikers of his generation. The Uruguayan has enjoyed a very successful career, both in Dutch, English and Spanish competitions. However, the peak of his career was created when he was in Barcelona uniform.

The reason, Suarez at that time managed to win a lot of titles, including treble winner in 2014/2015. Meanwhile, he won the European Golden Shoe award in 2013/2014 and 2015/2016.

Also Read: 5 Premier League Clubs with the Most Collection of Golden Shoe Titles

3. Thierry Henry (2 times)

Continue reading the article below

Editor’s picks

Top 5 Players Who Have Won The European Golden Shoe Over and Over againThierry Henry (skysports.com)

Thierry Henry appeared so impressive while defending Arsenal. The French striker spent 8 years in London in 1999–2007. In the process, he was able to score 175 goals and win 2 Premier League titles.

Regarding the Premier League golden boot, Henry has won it four times. So far, that record has not been broken by other attackers. Meanwhile, Henry has won the European Golden Shoe award twice in 2003/2004 and 2004/2005.

4. Cristiano Ronaldo (4 times)

Top 5 Players Who Have Won The European Golden Shoe Over and Over againCristiano Ronaldo (planetfootball.com)

Cristiano Ronaldo is one of the best footballers of all time. The player, who is currently 37 years old, always looks good when he plays for any club. Manchester United, Real Madrid, to Juventus have felt the greatness of the player.

CR7 won the European golden boot for the first time while defending Manchester United in 2007/2008. The striker won three other awards with Real Madrid in 2010/2011, 2013/2014 and 2014/2015.

5. Lionel Messi (6 times)

Top 5 Players Who Have Won The European Golden Shoe Over and Over againLionel Messi (twitter.com/Squawka)

The most successful player in the race for the European Golden Shoe award is Lionel Messi. The player who defends Paris Saint-Germain has so far won the award six times. Everything was achieved by the player with Barcelona.

La Pulga won the European Golden Shoe award for the first time in 2009/2010. After that, the Argentine player was able to win it again five times in 2011/2012, 2012/2013, 2016/2017, 2017/2018, and 2018/2019.

Lionel Messi’s nicks seem to be going on for a very long time. Because, the other players on the list above are old and some have hung up their boots.

Also Read: 5 Unique Things Football Players, Gavi Can’t Tie Shoe Laces

IDN Times Community is a medium that provides a platform for writing. All written works are the sole responsibility of the author.